Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
Show All Answers
The 2018 International Building Code Section 105.1 states "Any owner or owner's authorized agent who intends to construct, enlarge, alter, repair, move, demolish, or change the occupancy of a building or structure, or to erect, install, enlarge, alter, repair, remove, convert or replace any electrical, gas, mechanical, or plumbing system. the installation of which is regulated by this code, or to cause any such work to be performed, shall first make application to the Building Official and obtain the required permit."
Work exempt from a Building permit can be found here. Work Exempt from Permit Sec. 105.2
(*Please note Fence permits are required by the Planning Division)
All contractors are required to be licensed through the State of Arizona, unless work falls under the Handyman Exemption A.R.S. Sec. 32-1121A.14. More information on licensed contractors can be found at https://roc.az.gov/ . Any work being done on a Manufactured Home or Factory Built Building will also need to be licensed through the State of Arizona. Information can be found at https://housing.az.gov/general-public/manufactured-housing.
*Any person(s) working without a license will be subject to fines and fees established by the State of Arizona Registrar of Contractors.
If building under the owner-builder exemption you do not have to have a contractor license.
An owner-builder is defined by: any individual or group of individuals who own the property on which they plan to construct, alter, repair, improve, or remodel a building or structure is considered an owner-builder.
Arizona Revised Statues (A.R.S.) § 32-11214.5 is an exemption in the state licensing law that allows residential property owners to:
This exemption does not apply if the structure or group of structures, including improvements, is intended for sale or rent.
The offering of such structures for sale or for rent within one (1) year after completion or issuance of a certificate of occupancy is considered by law to be prima facie evidence of contracting without a license and that the construction project was not intended for the occupancy solely by the owner. The exemption in the statute in such cases are not applicable.
If an Owner/Builder elects to undertake a residential construction project on his/her own property, and hires his/her own employee, should be aware of possible requirements of other government agencies.
Handyman Exemption § 32-1121(A)(14). A person who does not hold a contractor’s license may bid for and accept work when the aggregate contract price, including labor and materials, amounts to less than $1,000 or in any case in which the performance of the work does not require a local building permit.
To schedule an inspection call (928) 340-2724 be sure to leave a contact name and number, the address of the inspection, the building permit number and what type of inspection is needed. Inspections called before 4:00pm will be scheduled the next business day, all final inspections require a 48 hour notice.